Paganini Caprice

  Tristan Jehan, Mary Farbood,
Diana Young, Tod Machover,
and Joshua Bell

Niccolò Paganini's Caprices are among the most spectacular of all his works, and the 24th Caprice is perhaps the best known of the set. It is a series of variations on a short theme, and covers a wide expressive range in its short duration. As a part of the Toy Symphony Project, we decided to create a transcription of the Twenty-fourth Caprice to show off some of the potential of our new Hyperviolin techniques. Using only an acoustic violin (Joshua Bell's Stradivarius), a microphone, and a couple of foot pedals for additional controls, Bell's playing is turned into a swirling spiral of violin sounds, doubling or tripling his sound, harmonizing the melody or delicately reinforcing or modifying his timbre, all under his expressive control.


More info.

tristan 'at' media 'dot' mit 'dot' edu